In a few days the 2022 World Cup ( كأس العالم لكرة القدم قطر 2022) will kick off in Qatar. Qatar 2022 will be the sixth World Cup this century. It will be the first time that the main football leagues will have to stop for the World Cup. As is well known, the World Cup is held every four years and always takes place between June and July. In this edition of the World Cup, the date chosen is between the months of November and December, so the main football leagues will take a rest to restart the last week of December.

Maximum expectation to host an exciting World Cup. A total of 32 countries, although some of the usual ones will not be there, will soon be heading to the Middle East to try to achieve the greatest success for their nation.

The group stage will be played from 20 November to 2 December. The knockout phase will start with the round of 16 from 3 to 6 December.

The quarter-finals will be played on 9 and 10 December, and the semi-finals on 13 and 14 December. The third-place play-off will take place on 17 December, one day before the final.

  • Group A
  • Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal and Netherlands
  • Group B
  • England, Iran IR, USA, Wales
  • Group C
  • Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
  • Group D
  • France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
  • Group E
  • Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
  • Group F
  • Belgium, Canada, Morocco and Croatia
  • Group G
  • Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon
  • Group H
  • Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and Korea Republic

Looking back to the beginning of the 2000s, we list the World Cup venues and their respective winners.

  • 2018 champions: France

  • 2014 champions: Germany
  • 2010 champions: Spain
  • 2006 champions: Italy
  • 2002 champions: Brazil

16 World Cups were held in the 20th century.

  • 1998 champions: France
  • 1994 champions: Brazil
  • 1990 champions: West Germany
  • 1986 champions: Argentina
  • 1982 champions: Italy
  • 1978 champions: Argentina
  • 1974 champions: West Germany
  • 1970 champions: Brazil
  • 1966 champions: England
  • 1962 champions: Brazil
  • 1958 champions: Brazil
  • 1954 champions: West Germany
  • 1950 champions: Uruguay
  • 1938 champions: Italy
  • 1934 champions: Italy
  • 1930 champions: Uruguay

Qatar has so far confirmed eight stadiums in five cities for the World Cup: Al Wakrah, Doha, Jor, Lusail and Riyadh, all of which will host the 64 World Cup matches.

Of the eight stadiums, only the Khalifa International Stadium was fully completed at the time of its selection as the venue, which is now reopened after being refurbished to host its matches. The Al Bayt Stadium (where the opening ceremony will be held) was built on the site of the defunct Al Khor Stadium. The 974 stadium will be the first fully dismantled sports complex and once the tournament is over its parts will be donated to underdeveloped countries. The Lusail stadium, where (among other matches) the grand final will be played, is being built in parallel to the city of the same name. The Arab country’s authorities have assured that the stadiums and fan fests will be air-conditioned to ventilate the atmosphere.

Good luck to all Teams we will follow the whole competition from the WOSPAC Academy where our players will cheer on their countries!